Mobile Device TV And Video Usage Remains Steady, Expected To Rise By 2010

 

mobile-tv

According to a recent MarketTools study, the number of people watching TV and video content on their mobile device has remained at a steady 35% from 2008 to 2009. Among the 65% who have not viewed TV and video on their mobile phone, 58% of the respondents believe it will be to expensive followed by 14% who do not have devices that support viewing.

 

There is significant interest in doing so: 78% of American consumers expect that the use of mobile TV and video will increase by 2010. When considering changing wireless carriers, 38% responded that the ability to offer the latest multimedia-enabled PDA/smart phone would impact their decision to choose that carrier and 41% say they would be more likely to watch TV and videos on their phone if they owned a multi-media-enabled PDA/smart phone.

 

Additional report highlights:

 

51% say they would be willing to accept advertising in return for free TV and video content

 

30% of consumers are watching TV and video on their mobile device when at home (up from 11% in 2008)

 

25% view content in between daily activities, 16% while in transit (i.e. on the bus, etc.) and 11% while waiting in line

 

66% consider the ability to pause and resume content a deciding factor in whether or not they would watch longer forms of content, such as a full-length movie

 

For me, even though my mobile phone supports TV and video I have yet to do so and I don’t see myself doing so with any kind of frequency in the future. That could be because I don’t watch much TV but more likely because I don’t want to have to wear my glasses to view TV and video, at least not yet!

3 Responses to Mobile Device TV And Video Usage Remains Steady, Expected To Rise By 2010

  1. Dave says:

    How much would a study like this cost?

  2. Sarah says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

